Texas Wing Powered Flight Academy

Welcome to Texas Wing Powered Flight Academy!

 Howdy! I hope you are excited about Powered Flight Academy 2016 as we are! Click here for the Operations Plan for this year.


Congratulations to our 2016 cadet's!

Joshua Block

Jeremy Bowman

Sarah Brewster

Brittany Fager

Seth Graham

Seth Grimes

Philip Hawthorne

Wesley Higbee

Quentin Irey

Jackson Jinks

Luke Langlais

Sarah Moberley

Coy Nickerson

Aaron Sloan

Briscoe Swisher

Ethan Waller

Hunter Wilcox

Matthew Wilson


 What is the solo ceremony?

The solo flight ceremony is a informal recognition of the students achievement and their ability to fly alone. When the instructor feels that their student is ready, the student receives their endorsement and takes off by their self. The student takes one flight around the airport pattern and comes in for a landing. After the successful landing the student taxi's the aircraft back to the terminal where the instructor and the rest of the school is waiting. When the student gets out of the airplane the rest of the academy cheers as the instructor congratulates their student. From there, the instructor cuts off the tail off of the shirt to symbolize that the instructor is no longer needed. Finally the student is baptized into the field of aviation by the other students as they dump a cooler of icy water on them.

 2016 Video 

Check out the video from previous years!

2013 Powered Flight Academy 


 2012 Powered Flight Academy


2011 Powered Flight Academy

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events